Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site
Textile News

AATCC Announces Materials Design Competition Winners

  The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists, Research Triangle Park, N.C., recently announced the winners of its 2007 Materials Design Competition for students. AATCC’s Materials Interest Group conceived the competition in August 2006 in an effort to highlight product development from a material structures design perspective.

Judges included: Dr. Philip Brown and Dr. Gary C. Lickfield, Clemson University; Dr. Richard Gregory, Old Dominion University; Dr. Brian G. Morin, Innegrity LLC; Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar, The Institute of Environmental and Human Health at Texas Tech University; and Dr. Stephen Russell, University of Leeds. Entries were judged on a number of criteria including originality, technical and commercial feasibility, and economic cost analysis viability, among others.

First place was awarded to Brett Pearson, Daniel Pearson and Michael Saterlie, University of Nevada - Reno, for their Electrodeposition of Cadmium Zinc Telluride (CZT) Nanowire Arrays for Radiation Detection. Second place was awarded to Bradley Drake, Hinola Kashuara and Whip Thompson, University of Nevada - Reno, for their Lithium Ion Nano Batteries — Lithium Electric Car Battery.

First place winners receive $1,000 and complimentary student registration for the AATCC 2007 International Conference & Exhibition (IC&E) to be held in Charleston, S.C., October 2-4. Second-place winners receive $500 and complimentary student registration for IC&E. Prizes will be awarded at the conference.

June 26, 2007