Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

More People

August 2015
August 18, 2015

June 2015
June 16, 2015

April 2015
April 14, 2015

August 2014
August 19, 2014

June 2014
June 17, 2014

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site

June 2011

Marietta, Ga.-based YKK Corp. of America's Board of Directors has elected the company's President and CEO Alex Gregory to chairman of the Board.


The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC), Research Triangle Park, N.C., has presented the 2010 J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award to Dr. Rachel McQueen, Dr. Monika Maria Keelan and Swapna Kannayiram, University of Alberta, Canada, for their paper titled "Determination of Antimicrobial Efficacy for Textile Products Against Odor-Causing Bacteria." AATCC also has given the Technical Committee on Research (TCR) Service Award to Roland Connelly for his work on AATCC UV Calibration Program and Evaluation Procedure 11; and Norma Keyes in recognition of her work on the Liquid Moisture Management Test Method and the Moisture Management Technical Supplement; and the AATCC Young Entrepreneur Award to Bryan Swarn, co-founder of Phenetix Urban Athletic Wear Co.

London-based WGSN has named Catriona Macnab chief creative officer; and has promoted Sandra Halliday to editor-in-chief; and Maria Janssen to creative director, Denimhead.com.

San Francisco-based Levi Strauss & Co. has named Walker MacWilliam vice president of men's design, Levi's® brand.

The Carpet America Recovery Effort (CARE), Dalton, Ga., has named Thomas Holland, Texas Carpet Recycling and Corporate Floors, and Sheri Gorman, RD Weiss Cos., to its Board of Directors, and has re-elected Ron Greitzer, Los Angeles Fiber and Reliance Carpet Cushion, and Sean Ragiel, CarpetCycle, to the Board. The organization also has named Eric Nelson, Interface Americas, CARE Person of the Year.


Carmel, Ind.-based Top Value Fabrics has named Dave Sailer business development manager.

Chattanooga, Tenn.-based Propex Operating Co. LLC's Board of Managers has named Michael Gorey president and CEO.

New York City-based Capital Business Credit LLC has appointed Robert Grbic COO, Michael Fortino CFO, and Charles Sharf executive vice president and New York factoring portfolio manager.

Bunting Magnetics Co., Newton, Kan., has named Matt Anderson manufacturing engineer and Kenton Stumps design engineer for the Material Handling product line; and Simon Ayling production manager and Steve Lacy technical sales executive for Bunting's European manufacturing and sales operation.

The International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC), Washington, has named Dr. Sukumar Saha, U.S. Department of Agriculture/Agricultural Research Service, Genetics and Precision Agriculture Unit, Mississippi State University, the 2011 ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year.

The National Textile Association, Washington, has awarded the Bronze Student's Medal to John P. Lord, University of Massachusetts - Dartmouth.

Worldwide Responsible Accredited Production (WRAP), Arlington, Va., has elected Stuart A. Webster vice president, training and education.

Lubbock, Texas-based Textile Exchange has named LaRhea Pepper global managing director.

Midland, Mich.-based Dow Corning Corp. has elected Mike Conway, Linda Kennan, Joseph Rinaldi and Doug Schoettinger corporate vice presidents.

Louise Tiler, Leeds College of Art, United Kingdom, has been awarded the Grand Prize in the SURTEX 2011 designext student design competition.

Loves Park, Ill.-based Zenith Cutter Co. has named Steve Kao sales director.

Delano, Minn.-based Easiway Systems Inc. has named Kevin Lewis general manager.

Winston-Salem, N.C.-based Hanesbrands Inc. has named Dale W. Boyles interim CFO, effective June 30.

The Atlanta-based Georgia Association of Manufacturers (GAM) and Manufacturers Education Foundation (MEF) have elected Rick Sargent, Peach State Labs, chairman; Monte Galbraith, Denim North America, vice chairman; and Miles Wright, Mannington Commercial, treasurer. GAM and MEF also have elected Burl Finkelstein, Kason Industries Inc., to serve a one-year term on both Boards of Directors. Lee Bryan, TenCate Geosynthetics; Tom Deems, New Riverside Ochre; and Trey Hodges, Swift Spinning LLC, will serve two-year terms on both Boards of Directors. David Morgan, Shaw Industries Group Inc.; Jim Jones, Dixie Industrial Finishing; Mike Anderson, TenCate Protective Fabrics; George Boyd Jr., Goldens' Foundry & Machine Co.; Mike Kiepura, RockTenn; and Brian Johnstone, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Co., will serve three-year terms on both Boards of Directors.

Aurora, Ill.-based Aurora Specialty Textiles Group Inc. has named Teresa Skinner marketing coordinator.

Clover, S.C.-based Synthetic Yarn and Fiber Association (SYFA) has elected the following officers of its 2011 Board of Directors: Keith Adams, ITG/Burlington Worldwide, president; Ernie Hundley, Nilit America Inc., first vice president; and Mike Becker, Michael S. Becker Inc., second vice president. The association also has elected the following directors: Mac Beard, Strategic Textile Solutions; Machell Apple, Valdese Weavers; Roger Crossfield, Goulston Technologies Inc. (retired); and Joel Cornelius, Unifi Inc. SYFA also has named John Amirtharaj, Premiere Fibers, membership chairman; Alasdair Carmichael, PCI Fibres, chairman of publicity; and Jerry Eskew, Oerlikon Textile Parts, conference chairman.

Atlanta-based InterfaceFLOR has named Charley Knight vice president and Brian Wilson director of design, Interface Hospitality.

Merrillville, Ind.-based MonoSol LLC has named Hanna Necel sales and technical support agent for Poland, Russia, Belarus, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovakia and Ukraine.

Spartanburg-based Milliken & Company has named Cresta Bledsoe global creative director, floor covering division.

Cary, N.C.-based Association of the Nonwoven Fabrics Industry (INDA) has named Philip Pitt marketing director.

Street, Md.-based H.P White Laboratory Inc. has appointed John Cronin manager, global business development.

Switzerland-based bluesign technologies AG has named Dr. Yi Heng Cheng, Jill Dumain, Dr. Boqiang Lin and Dr. E.U. von Weizsäcker to its Advisory Board.

New Haven, Mo.-based MarChem CFI Inc. has appointed Cameron Weldon upper Midwest regional sales representative.

Edinburg, Texas-based FibeRio Technology Corp. has named Dr. Ron Larson to its Technical Advisory Board.