Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site
Textile News

Alabama Textile Association Elects New Officers Directors

Jim Green, site manager of Solutia Inc., Foley, Ala., was elected president of the Alabama Textile Manufacturers Association (ATMA) at the groups annual meeting, which was held recently in Point Clear, Ala.Trey Hodges, president of the Fiber Products Division of Johnston Industries, was elected vice president, and W.Y. Shugart III of W.Y. ShugartandSons, Fort Payne, Ala., was elected treasurer.Green has been associated with the textile industry for more than 30 years. He has previously served ATMA in a variety of positions including vice president, treasurer and head of the long-range planning committee.Before joining Johnston Industries, Hodges was affiliated with WestPoint Pepperell, now WestPoint Stevens. He joined Johnston with the purchase of the Industrial Fabrics Division from WestPoint Stevens. He has served the ATMA as a member of the board of directors and treasurer. He was also a member of the first ATMI (American Textile Manufacturers Institute) leadership forum class of 1997, and is also active in the Georgia Textile Manufacturers Association.Shugart has been involved in the textile industry for 24 years, all of which have been with his present company, where he has followed his father and grandfather.Directors elected at the meeting to terms expiring in 2000 are:Bobby Cole, Prewett Associate Mills;Glenn Davis, Shaw Industries;Mike Fordham, Evergreen Technologies;David Major, Russell Corp.; andHollis Mann, Mount Vernon Mills.Directors elected to terms expiring in 2001 are:Steve Adair, Johnston Industries Inc.;John Gordon, Crowntuft;John Hurstort, WestPoint Stevens Inc.;Mark Sheffenof, Tyco Adhesives; and Dexter Ware, Accordis Cellulosic Fibers Inc.Newly elected directors with terms expiring in 2002 are:Joe Ballow, Wehadkee Yarn Mills;George Harper, Beaulieu of America;Rod Hewitt, Vanity Fair Intimates;Alan Scarbrough, Kappler Protective Fabrics and Apparel Group; andDon Whitlow, Barbour Threads Inc.Also serving on the board of directors is immediate past president, J.L. Grant, WestPoint Stevens, and Jerry Johnson, Alabama Power Co., who is the ATMA associate members chairman.

June 1999