Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

More People

November/December 2015
November 24, 2015

September/October 2015
September 22, 2015

August 2015
August 18, 2015

July 21, 2015

June 2015
June 16, 2015

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site

July/August 2006

Karin Malmstrom has joined Cotton Council International, Washington, as its China and Hong Kong director.

Midland, Mich.-based The Dow Chemical Co. has appointed President and CEO Andrew N. Liveris chairman of the board, and William H. Weideman vice president and controller.

Greenville-based Batson Group Inc. has named Charles Little group manager with responsibility for capital equipment sales and marketing; and has hired Bruce Kalley as service and spare parts manager, with responsibility for service and spare parts sales for original equipment manufacturers.

Performance Fibers Inc., Richmond, Va., has named James A. Johnson II vice president, chief information officer, with responsibility for the company’s global Information Technology group.

Precision Custom Coatings LLC, Totowa, N.J., has hired Moe Kovangji as general manager.

Paris-based Lectra has appointed David Rode president of Lectra USA Inc., where he will be responsible for all company business in Canada, Mexico, the United States and the Caribbean. The company also named Guido Turco product lifecycle management business development manager for Italy.

Tolland, Conn.-based Gerber Technology has presented the Gerber WebPDM® Achievement Award to Christina Wong , a recent graduate of the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising’s International Manufacturing & Product Development program. The company also has welcomed Linna Lin , a customer solutions center coordinator, as its 200th full-time employee in greater China.

Dalton, Ga.-based Thomas Industries LLC CEO Jerry L. Thomas has assumed the role of board co-chairman and will head a special committee tasked with identifying strategic business opportunities. Also, Dick Bierie now is president, Marketing & Sales.

WestPoint Home Inc., West Point, Ga., has named Chris N. Baker COO.

Kellwood Co., St. Louis, has appointed Jeffery Streader president, Operating Services Division; Gail Cook , president, David Meister brand; and James Weinberg CEO, Halmode suit and dress division.

Blue Bell, Pa.-based Acme-Hardesty Co. has named Cynthia A. Cox president and promoted Wulan Gerile to global sourcing manager.

Emeryville, Calif.-based Nano-Tex Inc. has promoted James P. Curley to president and CEO, and named him to the company’s Board of Directors.

Mark Welles has joined TradeCard Inc., New York City, as vice president of sales in Asia Pacific.

Consoltex Inc., Quebec, has named Sirio De Luca president, Commercial Operations.

Jessica Franken , associate director of government affairs for the Association of the Nonwovens Fabrics Industry, received the Alexis de Tocqueville Award upon her recent graduation from Fairfax, Va.-based George Mason University’s School of Public Policy.

Omnova Solutions Inc., Fairlawn, Ohio, has elected Robert A. Stefanko to its Board of Directors.

The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC), Research Triangle Park, N.C., has named the following Concept 2 Consumer/Computer Integrated Textile Design Association design competition winners: Print Design, Interior Design — Andrea Singer , Philadelphia University, first place, and Elizabeth Newcomb , North Carolina State University (NCSU), second place; Print Design, Apparel Design — Carla Rickenbacher , Drexel University, first place, and Christine Schmitt , Savannah College of Art and Design, second place; Product Design, Interior Design — Jessica Roush , NCSU, first place, and Elizabeth Newcomb , second place; and Product Design, Apparel Design — Colleen Keller , Cornell University, first place, and Cora D. Smith , NCSU, second place. AATCC also presented awards in its inaugural Engineering Design Competition, Medical/Biomedical Fibrous Structures Area to Harold D. Dillow , David J. Janowiecki , Chloe Zhuang Wan and Marc R. Williams , University of Kentucky, first place; and Hang Liu and Hong Yu , University of Georgia, second place.

Precision Roll Grinders Inc., Allentown, Pa., has named William “Bill” Cargile general manager of its Texarkana facility.

William E. Giblin , president and CEO, Tweave Inc., Norton, Mass.; and former chairman, National Textile Association, Boston, recently received an honorary Doctor of Business Administration degree from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

American Fibers & Yarns Co. (AF&Y), Chapel Hill, N.C., has hired Roger Morelock as vice president of operations for its Bainbridge, Ga., facility.

The Board of Directors of Dalton, Ga.-based Shaw Industries Inc. has elected Vance Bell to succeed Robert E. Shaw as CEO effective Sept. 1, 2006. Shaw, a co-founder of the company, will remain on the board. The board also has elected Randy Merritt president of the company. Merritt succeeds Julian Saul, who recently retired.

July/August 2006