Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site

ATMI Presidents


Dr. John H. McAden, 1899-1902, was the only Association present to serve three terms. He was born in Caswell County, N.C. on March 13, 1835 and died August 15, 1904. He worked to establish steamship connections between the ports of the U.S. and those of Mexico,South America and the Orient, and for the improvement of cable facilities. He served on the Association’s board until his death.

George B. Hiss, 1902-1903, had served as secretary of the Association before assuming the presidency. He was born December 6, 1858 and died December 8, 1928. He had been among the founders in 1897.

W. C. Heath, 1903-1904, also was one of the Association founders. He was born in Union County, N.C., November 24, 1866, and died February 7, 1937. He entered the textile industry in 1895 as secretary-treasurer of Monroe Cotton Mills, Monroe, N.C., and later served as director of Manetta Cotton Mills, Lando, S.C.; Cliffside Mills, Cliffside, N.C.; Newton Mills, Newton, N.C.; and Henrietta Mills, Henrietta, N.C.

R. S. Reinhardt, 1904-1905, was another founder. He was born in Lincoln County, N.C., January 1, 1858 and died September 11, 1925. He came to Lincolnton in 1890 as manager and part owner of Phifer Mill. He was active in North Carolina cotton mill management for 35 years.

R. M. Miller, Jr., 1905-1906, also served 1906-1910 as president of the North Carolina Cotton Manufacturers Association. He was president and treasurer of the Elizabeth Mills, Charlotte, N.C. During his administration, a principal problem was the Chinese boycott of American goods.

Arthur H. Lowe, 1906-1907, was the first New Englander to be president of ACMA. He was born at Rindge, N.H., on August 20, 1853 and died October 27, 1932 at Fitchburg, Mass. He also was a founder and president of the New England Cotton Manufacturers Association. During his career, he established the Lowe Manufacturing Company, Fitchburg, Mass., and president of Amoskeag Manufacturing Company, Manchester, N.H.

Simpson Bobo Tanner, 1907-1908, was an early leader in developing the Red Sea, Chinese and Manchurian markets for American cotton goods and was a great advocate of trade with Latin America. He was born in Spartanburg County, S.C. on December 8, 1852 and died in Rutherfordton, N.C. on July 3, 1924. In 1887, he organized the Henrietta Mills Company at Henrietta, N.C. and the second plant at Caroleen. He organized and directed the Florence Mills, Forest City, N.C., and had interests in several other cotton mills in western North Carolina.

T. H. Rennie, 1908-1909, was one of the first presidents of the Association to take an active part in opposing federal legislation harmful to the textile industry. He was born at Victory Mills, N.Y. on September 30, 1857. He served his apprenticeship in textiles in Lewiston, Me. And, in 1882, moved to Graniteville, S.C. as superintendent of three mills. He became president of Pell City Manufacturing Company, Pell City, Ala., in 1908.

Lewis W. Parker, 1909-1910, president of Parker Cotton Mills Company, also was a lawyer and banker and, at the height of his career, was regarded as the outstanding textile executive of South Carolina. He controlled mills operating a total of 340,000 spindles and 8,564 looms. He was knows for deep concern for the welfare of his employees, instituting programs to provide education, recreation and hospital care. He was born in Abbeville, S.C., in 1865 and died in 1916.